It’s that time again: Lent. And for many years I’ve used the forty days of Lent to write essays/blogs/reflections/stuff. It may be a spiritual or Lenten “discipline,” especially if the exercise teaches me anything as I go…and if that teaching/learning in any way strengthens my spiritual life, such as it is.

When I was a Presbyterian kid growing up in a community over-flowing with Catholics, mostly from European immigrant families who’d come to the U.S. to work in the local shoe factories, what I knew of Lent back then was that it was a time to “give up something.” Gum. Pepsi. Movies. For forty days. My church didn’t acknowledge a liturgical calendar back then, so while the minister might have (probably) mentioned something of Jesus’ forty day sojourn in the wilderness as we moved toward Easter, the mention of Lenten disciplines, of in some way preparing for the glorious celebration of the Resurrection, was absent from the church’s teachings.

But my Catholic classmates questioning my Protestant Lenten sacrifice (“What are you giving up for Lent?”) hinted at something we non-Romans were missing in our calendar — and in our lives.

We Presbyterians (well, most of us) came to the party late. (OK, admittedly “party” does seem to be an inappropriate word for the serious, thoughtful, penitential season of prayerful devotion that is to prepare us for Easter Sunday’s ultimate surprise…unless you count Mardi Gras!) We transitioned into observing Lent as we grew into the liturgical calendar, about the time that Roman Catholics were getting used to the Second Vatican Council. Catholics were reforming and we Presbyterians were becoming more catholic than usual. (Note the small ‘c’ — catholic, as in universal or all-embracing.) To cut to the chase here, and edit out pages and pages of historical exposition (you’re very welcome), it’s enough to say that I am engaging in writing as a particular personal Lenten discipline (among others), “giving up” time six days a week to reflect on a theme that pulls these essays together.

Since I am making room in each day to write, I’m thinking “room” might be a topic to explore. Thus the bold “headline” at the top of the page. My annual reminder comes next: I write only for myself. Yes, a blog is public, and if you count yourself as part of that public, maybe my thinking and writing will somehow contribute to your own spiritual nurture. As I explore various rooms or roominess, perhaps you will sit with me in this WordPress room and find welcome, warmth, and even wonder at the spaces you’ve grown up in, and still want to explore.

Let’s make room for Lent.